ITEMS TO DONATE

I have to clean out my home office…and while I would love to keep the school garden book collection I have amassed over the years, I cannot.

AND…I have four EarthBoxes, too.

I want to DONATE these items but do have some parameters  (sorry…apologizing ahead of time for being pompous):

1) I would like to donate to a school with an active school garden in which a few teachers and parents are involved…and will be sure that the books are used.
2) OR, I can donate them to a garden-focused non-profit that ensures teachers, parents, volunteers can either access them or that staff are using them to support school gardens.
3) Sorry…if you are a consultant working with schools, I cannot donate them to you, but you can purchase them. I will use the funds to donate to a school garden.
4) I would like the books to be donated as one lot. Earth Boxes can be claimed without the books, but I would like to donate all four as a one set.

I live in Brooklyn…so you would need to come to me…(sorry)

Let me know: MICHELE (mi@micheleisrael.com)

Here is the list of books:

  • The Growing Classroom: Garden-Based Science by Roberta Jaffe, Garry Appel
  • Nourishing Choices: Implementing Food Education in Classrooms
  • Nature with Children of All Ages by Edith A. Sisson
  • Project Learning Tree: Pre-K-8 Environmental Education Activity Guide
  • Flowering Plant Families of the World by V.H. Heywood, R.K. Brummit, A. Culham, O. Seberg (a simply gorgeous hardcover book…incredible)
  • Life Lab Science Program: Life Around Us: Grade 2
  • Life Lab Science, Change Around Us, Grade 2 Teacher’s Book
  • All About Farmers’ Markets: A Teaching Guide for Classrooms, Camps, and Community Programs by Peggy Sissel-Phelan, Ed. D.
  • Growing Food (Teachers College, Columbia University)
  • All About Bulbs
  • Schoolyard-Enhanced Learning: Using the Outdoors as an Instructional Tool, K-8
  • Grow Lab: A Complete Guide to Gardening in the Classroom, National Gardening Association
  • Junior Master Gardener: Healthy and Nutrition from the Garden
  • Gardening with Children, Brooklyn Botanic Garden
  • Digging Deeper: Integrating Youth Gardens into Schools and Communities by Joseph Kiefer and Martin Kemple
  • Grow Lab: Activities for Growing Minds, National Gardening Association
  • Gardens for Leaning: Creating and Sustaining Your School Garden, California School and Garden Network
  • How Do You Measure and Elephant: Science Activities for Families (Animal focus, but very neat and certainly environment related), Wildlife Conservation Society
About NYC Garden Network

Seasoned writer with education as primary area of interest. Expansive portfolio of materials, from instructional guides to articles. Active independent contractor taking on new challenging projects regularly. Committed to school gardening and related environmental issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.